Vivaldi Power Users do not Need Confirm Download Dialogue



  • You can upvote this post in the bottom right hand corner of this post, where there is an "up" arrow and a "down" arrow, next to the small links "Reply" and "Quote".

    Whenever we download an .EXE file or any other executable file with Vivaldi like a .JAR file, we get the following prompt:

    Vivaldi Confirm Download Dialog Box

    For search engines to pick up the text of this graphic/messagebox:

    "Confirm Download"
    This type of file can harm your computer. Do you want to keep filename.exe anyway?

    [Be Safe] [Keep]

    Now for Vivaldi users that don't mind selling their soul to Google, you can make this noob confirm dialog go away by going to Vivaldi Logo -> Tools -> Settings -> Privacy -> Under "Third Party Services" -> Check the box "Google Phishing and Malware Protection"

    However, for those of us Power Users who do not want to sell our souls to Google (the entirety of our browsing history to "check each link for malware"), and do not allow "Google Phishing and Malware Protection" to run,

    we get the "Confirm Download" nag screen shown above on every executable file we download and many other file types. A penalty to not give our browsing history to Google?

    I would think that this basic feature, really the removal of a nag if I don't want to use a 3rd party (Google) service, should be of utmost urgency and priority to the dev team of Vivaldi.

    In [Settings -> Downloads] there should be the following option:
    [ ] Warn user about potentially dangerous downloads

    Which I and most power users would uncheck. Please ̷a̷d̷d̷ ̷t̷h̷i̷s̷ ̷f̷e̷a̷t̷u̷r̷e̷ fix this urgently dev team!

    More information about the underlying Chomium function that causes this can be found here (for developer's reference):

    https://chromium.googlesource.com/chromium/src/+/master/chrome/browser/resources/safe_browsing/README.md

    As the title of this post states, Vivaldi Power Users have resorted to HEX editing files in Vivaldi to make this nag go away:

    https://forum.vivaldi.net/topic/11827/any-way-to-disable-the-this-type-of-file-can-harm-your-computer-warning/4

    but even this horrendous way to fix the nag "you don't use Google" penalty appears to not be working in the latest versions of Vivaldi.

    Please fix, and other power users, please upvote and comment that you agree!


  • Moderator

    Please vote for the existing feature request.

    Option to Disable the Confirm Download Dialog

    Before posting please read the sticky thread in the Feature Request forum. In particular:

    • Search to make sure the feature you have in mind hasn’t been requested already. Duplicate requests will be deleted by the moderators.
    • Upvote features you like.
    • If a feature hasn’t been requested, start a new topic. Post only one feature request per topic.
    • Choose a clear and concise title for the topic and describe the feature in more detail in the body of the post.
    • Discuss requested features under each post.
    • Check tags such as “Done”, “Pipeline” and “Duplicate” for status of features.
    • Offensive language and ALL CAPS posts will be deleted.

    Full instructions on searching and requesting new features can be found on this help page.

    The Vivaldi Team is small, and issues have to be prioritised.



  • @pesala I don't like the way the existing Feature Request is worded. That's why I've posted a new one, and summarized the findings of the old one.


  • Moderator

    @austinflorida

    Duplicate requests will be deleted by the moderators.

    You can comment on the existing feature request. Another moderator locked your thread. I moved it here to allow some discussion of your idea.

    I would like this option, but confirming a download is hardly an urgent matter. Power Users can get caught out too, so a reminder does not hurt.


 

Looks like your connection to Vivaldi Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.