Vivaldi update close prompt



  • Too many times I had downloaded update just to lose it, when I closed the browser, why not detect software update window, and instead of closing it with the vivaldi, ask for confirmation? something like 1 cancel update, close vivaldi 2 apply(wait for download) update than close (do not reopen) Simple QoL improvement would be much appropriated. Tnx



  • This used to happen to me, until I realised that you have to wait for the downloaded update to start installing before manually closing Vivaldi.

    When the download is complete it says to close Vivaldi: Do not do it yet

    [attachment=3356]DoNotCloseYet.png[/attachment]

    When this dialogue appears, then it is safe to close Vivaldi, but you must do it manually.

    [attachment=3357]Nowyoucanclose.png[/attachment]

    It would be much better if the installer would automatically close the previous version when it starts up, but it won't. It leaves the old vivaldi.exe and creates a file named new_vivaldi.exe, which is the latest version, so then you have to delete vivaldi.exe and rename new_vivaldi.exe.
    Attachments:
    ,


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Vivaldi Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.