Settings switched without my doing it



  • Vivaldi just updated itself. I found that in Preferences, the setting for automatic updates had been checked without my doing it. Why?
    In the address bar section, the setting for highlighting the base domain was checked. I really do not like that. I want to see the whole address clearly. Why express it like that? What is really meant is "make everything except the domain hard to read". Why use a euphemism like that?
    Under Privacy, broadcast IP for WebRTC keeps being enabled. Is there any way to stop it from being changed constantly? Does the Trace extension set for WebRTC protection stop that anyway? Maybe uBlock Origin stops that as well?



  • The settings you call changed are just new settings; the fact that the behaviour has changed is due to the settings having a default value (& they’ve chosen what they thought most new users would want).

    I don’t know if you’ve altered the auto-update setting since it’s appeared; if you’ve disabled it & Vivaldi auto-updated anyway, I’d report this as a bug.

    The WebRTC problem is is rather complicated. For some it’s permanently disabled, for some (I only know @Steffie experiences or has experienced this behaviour) it’s enabled randomly, for some it can’t be disabled. I managed to get from lock-enabled to disabled by disabling the corresponding setting in uBlocko & Privacy Badger, i.e. all extensions I found that have it, & then disabling it.



  • I filed a bug report. We shall see what happens.



  • @potmeklecbohdan said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    For some it’s permanently disabled, for some (I only know @Steffie experiences or has experienced this behaviour) it’s enabled randomly

    To clarify/update my earlier moan about this to which you implicitly refer. Initially i thought it was working fine for me within each V version [ie, respecting my manual disable across restarts] & "only" being reset to again become enabled, with each V update. However i subsequently discovered to my shock that somehow i had completely deceived myself & in fact, for me like at least some other users, the damn WebRTC thing gets re-enabled every single damn time that V is relaunched, damnit & damnit again. Did i mention damn? 😜



  • @Steffie Ohh…

    This is maybe going too much off-topic, but since it was mentioned by the OP…

    • What happens if you disable it, open a new window & look at the setting there?
      • Till I’ve done what was necessary, it was always enabled; I think the settings just remember how you’ve left it & (based on a test from devtools) you can’t disable it in this case (you can untick the box, but that has no effect)
    • Try disabling all your extensions & enable them one by one, always checking the tick box from a new window (or if that didn’t work, after a restart). As I’ve already said:

      I managed to get from lock-enabled to disabled by disabling the corresponding setting in uBlocko & Privacy Badger, i.e. all extensions I found that have it, & then disabling it.



  • @Streptococcus said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    highlighting the base domain

    A lot of scam site try to spoof the real site with the url or name for the site in the fake site url somewhere, the highlighting is for a bit of security (tho the darkness and shadding of the non domain does not always make the rest readable).



  • @potmeklecbohdan said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    Try disabling all your extensions & enable them one by one

    We've been there and done that!
    https://forum.vivaldi.net/topic/43167/can-webrtc-be-disabled?



  • @potmeklecbohdan said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    I managed to get from lock-enabled to disabled by disabling the corresponding setting in uBlocko & Privacy Badger, i.e. all extensions I found that have it, & then disabling it.

    Oh well now i am simply embarrassed! You nailed it t/y.

    I've never forgotten that uBO also can block it albeit interferes with the V setting... but i use uM [no such setting] not uBO, so all this time i have been blaming V.

    Now that you've pointed out to me that PB also has a setting, which i had not thought to check at all coz i only remembered uBO for this, now i've checked, seen what you meant, unticked the PB one, re-unticked the V one, relaunched, reinspected & saw the new status per pic below, relaunched, rechecked, pic below still applicable.

    b19e3083-8258-434c-adc2-8717bcc4ef5b-image.png

    I'm curious that before that first relaunch, i had both respective boxes unticked, whereas after relaunches the PB one re-ticked itself, allowing the V one to FINALLY stay unticked [or vice versa].

    Somewhat odd.



  • @Steffie said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    I've never forgotten that uBO also can block it albeit interferes with the V setting...

    Now that you've pointed out to me that PB also has a setting,

    I mentioned both in the thread I linked 😵 😇



  • @TbGbe Indeed you did, & so i can see... now. Thank you. Pls note however:

    1. Though your post predates mine in this forum thread, i actually began working on mine before your post had become visible to me, & i also got distracted by unrelated things which delayed me. It never crossed my mind to re-read the thread to see if any new info had emerged, before i finished testing, writing then posting.

    2. For the life of me i cannot grasp how i had entirely missed seeing that other thread before your now explicitly pointing me to it tonight. It's recent, & clearly has a title that would have attracted me like a moth to light given i have been whingeing about this for years. Yet somehow, it completely evaded me, or vice versa.



  • @Steffie That's OK.
    My mistake, I thought that you had posted in that thread; but now I realise you hadn't 😵



  • @Steffie said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    after relaunches the PB one re-ticked itself

    I didn’t care about this till you’ve now mentioned it—but it’s true. It has to have something to do with the setting being tri-state (at least), V using the strict option while uBo & PB the middle-way one, & each of them updating its tick box by its own rules.



  • @potmeklecbohdan said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    The WebRTC problem is is rather complicated. For some it’s permanently disabled, for some (I only know @Steffie experiences or has experienced this behaviour) it’s enabled randomly, for some it can’t be disabled. I managed to get from lock-enabled to disabled by disabling the corresponding setting in uBlocko & Privacy Badger, i.e. all extensions I found that have it, & then disabling it.

    I disabled the WebRTC protection in Trace and also unchecked it in uBlock Origin, unchecked the browser preference, then restarted. The item in Preferences was checked again, so changing extension settings does not make any difference.



  • @Chas4 said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    @Streptococcus said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    highlighting the base domain

    A lot of scam site try to spoof the real site with the url or name for the site in the fake site url somewhere, the highlighting is for a bit of security (tho the darkness and shadding of the non domain does not always make the rest readable).

    Of all the ways there are of emphasizing something, why pick the most awkward one? Since the setting says highlighting, why not use actual highlighting - in other words, put a different background colour behind the domain name?
    Another bone I have to pick with that idea is the hiding of the prefix of the hostname. What is so bad about showing clearly the prefix?



  • @potmeklecbohdan said in Settings switched without my doing it:

    it’s true

    I am thrilled by this, & my team of doctors will be very relieved. Finally we're seeing some tiny progress in our arduous battle over years to cure me of my pathological lying.

    😜 🤪


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Vivaldi Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.