When Vivaldi opens I get a dangerous site I've never been to



  • This morning I opened Vivaldi and was presented with a red screen saying that the site sdfg7as4df.webcindario.com was dangerous, known for phishing. I have never been to that site or that domain.

    I pressed the button that said 'Take Me Back to Safety' and nothing happened. I had to go to task manager and end Vivaldi.

    I tried again. Same.

    I copied the Default folder App Data to another drive and uninstalled vivaldi, but saved browsing data and then downloaded a new copy of vivaldi and started. Same red screen.

    I uninstalled and deleted all browsing data, reinstalled and now I had a vanilla, brand new Vivaldi installation.

    I closed vivaldi, copied the older Default folder back to App Data. I said to overwrite 226 out of the 81K files that were in the new install, and restarted Vivaldi. Big red screen again.

    What do I do know? Where does this URL that I have never been to, come from and how can I get it out of my Browsing data? Thank you.


  • Moderator

    @reba may be a extension or infected bookmark in Vivaldi.

    Or some freeware software with ad on your PC installed that in browser.
    Check your drives for malware with free Malwarebytes


  • Moderator

    @reba Please let us check together your settings:
    Open Vivaldi > Settings > General
    Check what is set for "Homepage"
    Check what is set for "Startup with"
    Open Vivaldi > Settings > Tabs
    Check what is set for "New Tab Page"



  • @reba In addition to the checks by @Gwen-Dragon
    Open internal Vivaldi page vivaldi://serviceworker-internals
    Hit Unregister for all shown entries
    Restart Vivaldi



  • @Gwen-Dragon I checked with Malwarebytes and anti-virus after each instance and there were no infections.



  • @Gwen-Dragon - My difficulty is that when Vivaldi opens it has the wall to wall red screen with the warning and the 'Back to Safety' button and nothing else. There is no way to access anything else so I have to use Task Manager to shut Vivaldi down.



  • @TbGbe said in When Vivaldi opens I get a dangerous site I've never been to:

    vivaldi://serviceworker-internals

    Unfortunately, I have no access to anything in Vivaldi once I open it. The red 'danger' screen pops up with that website I've never been on and there in no way to move beyond it. Neither the 'details' button nor the 'Back to Safety' button functions. I have to use Task Manager to shut Vivaldi down. Rinse and repeat ad nauseum. Is there any way to do these things outside of Vivaldi?


  • Vivaldi Translator

    Do keyboard commands work, or is Vivaldi completely frozen?

    • Does Ctrl+F12 work to open settings?
    • How about Shift+Escape to open Vivaldi's own task manager (not Windows task manager)?
    • Or Ctrl+N to open a new window?

  • Ambassador

    @reba , so understood Vivaldi installed from scratch and Copy the old data, this screen appears again.This can only mean that the problem is in this data.
    Uninstall Vivaldi completely and all the data and the folder, to install it again in a new folder.
    If you have sync enabled you can also recover your data without having to copy anything, simply logging in your account.



  • @Komposten - Now I have a new issue - after vivaldi opens with the red 'Deceptive site' screen, before I have a chance to hit F12 Vivaldi shuts down.

    I guess I'll have to start over.



  • @Catweazle - Going to try that. Not synced, alas.


  • Ambassador

    @reba , it is recommended to activate sync, it saved me hundreds of bookmarks, passwords and settings, when my previous PC broke, so in the new one I only had to enter my account after installing Vivaldi, to have everything again. It is not only to sync 2 PC or your PC and your phone, it's also a good backup.



  • @reba Since you were able to successfully reinstall a vanilla Vivaldi version before copying back in your "older ... data" files after which copying the problem reappeared, the implication is that one of those 'old' Vivaldi data files is corrupted/contaminated with whatever is triggering the warning. Vivaldi's 'full reset' web page ( https://help.vivaldi.com/article/full-reset-of-vivaldi/Default ) lists the purposes of many key Vivaldi data's files (typically located within the "/AppData/Local/Vivaldi/User Data" subfolder):

    Bookmarks – bookmarks and info from Speed Dials.
    Cookies – website data.
    Current Session – data on open tabs.
    Extension Rules, Extension State, Extensions, Local Extension Settings, Local Storage, Managed Extension Storage, Extension Cookies and Secure Preferences – all extension preferences and extension data are stored among these.
    History – website history.
    Login Data – website passwords. Note: This file is encrypted and is only usable on the machine that created it.
    Notes – notes from the Notes Panel.
    Preferences and Local App Settings\mpognobbkildjkofajifpdfhcoklimli – Vivaldi settings and configuration.
    Sessions – saved tabs sessions.
    Web Data – autofill data.

    Instead of copying back in your entire 81K 'older ... data" files after a clean reinstall, you might try only copying back in (to their appropriate subfolders) the bookmarks, login data, notes, preferences and local apps settings files. This would exclude any history, sessions, cookies, and extension file involvement from the restoration. If the problem doesn't then reappear, you will at least know that something in your history/sessions/cookies or an extension are causing the issue. At that point, you can forego restoring those old history/session data files (since they're of only limited value anyhow) and/or perhaps reinstall your extensions anew one-at-a-time in case one of them had gone rogue or malfunctioned.

    If the problem reappears after initially copying in 'old' bookmarks, login data, notes, preferences and local apps settings files, then the problem rests with something in at least one of those files, and you can try isolating which one is at fault by deleting each of those files (with Vivaldi off) and restoring 'old' versions of them one-at-a-time with a Vivaldi restart between each restoration to see which of the 'old' files is problematic. Since Vivaldi recreates fresh and clean versions of each data file whenever a previous one is not found upon startup, you can use this to isolate problematic files since you control which 'old' files you copy in. Once you know which file is problematic, you can copy in the other old ones but leave the at-fault file un-restored.



  • @Blackbird - I had to take a break but I will try what you said. Thanks for the detailed response, much appreciated.



  • It would be nice if when someone says enable sync or other setting that some users may not be familiar with to tell them how or send a link.
    Bart in VA


  • Ambassador

    @BartinVA Most people should know about F1; we should not have to tell them everything up-front. If they really do not know, they can ask.

    Sync



  • @reba said in When Vivaldi opens I get a dangerous site I've never been to:

    Vivaldi and was presented with a red screen saying that the site sdfg7as4df.webcindario.com was dangerous, known for phishing

    Have you ever tried using Task Manager to close down the browser? Occasionally you may need to do a hard shutdown using the Power button. When you restart the computer do not restore your browser if asked to do so.

    If you haven’t done so you might want to empty temporary internet files, restart the computer and run a Quick Scan with Windows Defender.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Vivaldi Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.