Error when launching Vivaldi and no GUI visible (Ubuntu 15.10 x64)

• I've tried at least 2 versions of the beta: the x86 deb, and the 'stable' repo. This is the error I get when launching the repo version from terminal: [22803:22841:1103/112631:ERROR:channel.cc(307)] RawChannel read error (connection broken) No GUI visible with either version I've tried. Not sure if the error message was the same with the deb; didn't think to try from terminal. I am a linux newb...

• Vivaldi Team

@StevenRichards:

I've tried at least 2 versions of the beta: the x86 deb, and the 'stable' repo. This is the error I get when launching the repo version from terminal:

[22803:22841:1103/112631:ERROR:channel.cc(307)] RawChannel read error (connection broken)

No GUI visible with either version I've tried. Not sure if the error message was the same with the deb; didn't think to try from terminal. I am a linux newb…

I am sorry you are having problems. This error message has to do with gpu encoding, but I'm not sure why you are getting it. A couple of questions. You say you are trying to install a .deb. Does that mean you are on Ubuntu? Which version? Do you have other versions of Vivaldi installed? Do they run? Do you have Chrome installed? If so, does it run? I would also ask you to try and launch Vivaldi from a terminal "/opt/vivaldi-beta/vivaldi-beta" and let me know if it works.

• I am using Ubuntu, 15.10 x64. The two versions I explained above of Vivaldi are the only ones I've installed. I haven't had one run yet. I do have chrome installed, and it does work. I just tried launching vivaldi like you recommended, and I did not get any error message, but no GUI either. Perhaps it would help to mention that no matter which way I do it, the icon does appear in the unity menu, but when i never see anything when i click it. no window. no menu(s). nothing. :(