Snapshot releases suited for normal use?

• Hello, Are the Vivaldi snapshot releases suited for normal users, or are they intended for dedicated beta-testers / techies? Thanks for the info. Fritz (who left Opera for Pale Moon, after V12.17)

• Welcome to the forum Overcast!

You can use the snapshots without any special knowledge. Don't forget these versions to be not finalized and be careful with any kind of important data. For some months now I am using Vivaldi snapshots more or less exclusively and don't have any severe problems which could prevent me from using it furthermore.

It really depends on your usage patterns. I've used Vivaldi as my default browser since sometime in March of this year. My browsing tends to be quite vanilla, in that I don't do any gaming at all, I'm not into consuming audio or video thru the browser, I don't upload or download large volumes of stuff, I'm not a developer or QC tester of web content, etc. There are probably some uses for which you'd rather use a different browser, but for the type of research I do, it works great.

• I very frequently stream media through my browser, and I use Vivaldi as my default. The only problem I ever encounter is an occasional blank tab, which is really just a minor annoyance for me.

• I agree with Ayespy and Tiamarth. Vivaldi has been my default browser since sometime in March. I have experienced some glitches, but the next upgrade always seemed to have solved those problems. This is after using Opera as my default browser since we used to have to pay for it back in 1997.

I think that if you are a normal user looking for a great browser experience, the Vivaldi is a browser for you to try and use extensively. I believe that the latest snapshot (1.0.303.32) is almost ready for release as the Beta version. If you follow the advice of Ayespy and Tiamarth in their replies above, you should have no issues. Best wishes.

• Yes, Vivaldi is totally ready for prime-time for normal use. Go for it!!!