Compulsory accounts?

• Hi, I have been using Vivaldi for about 2 years now and so far I love the fresh approach to browsing. Until the most recent update, where I have an account coupled to my Vivaldi? Is this now required to keep using Vivaldi?

Off-topic: When I made my account, I also noticed how you show the password in plaintext, while registering. That is really not necessary and a potential security issue.

• @Lamith At which point is a vivaldi account compulsory? 0_o What kind of message / popup were shown to you?

• Well, I am "logged in" as Person 1 now. And it allows me to make more users on Vivaldi. I had to make an account to post on the forum, which I totally understand. I really do not like browsers and websites tracking me and this Person 1 kind of surprised me.

@Lamith said in Compulsory accounts?:

That is really not necessary and a potential security issue.

No, it is not. All password fields can be made easily visible.

• Ambassador

Hi, I have been using Vivaldi for about 2 years now and so far I love the fresh approach to browsing. Until the most recent update, where I have an account coupled to my Vivaldi? Is this now required to keep using Vivaldi?

Off-topic: When I made my account, I also noticed how you show the password in plaintext, while registering. That is really not necessary and a potential security issue.

It is not necessary to register in Vivaldi to use it, but to use the Sync function, just like in any other browser with this function.

• He's referring to the new user profiles. If you use Sync then the user profile should match the sync account, otherwise ...?

I am "logged in" as Person 1 now.

Hi, You are not "logged in" to anything, but I can understand the confusion.

What is actually happening is you are in exactly the same place as you used to be in older versions.