Closing saved session multiplies pinned tabs in regular session



  • @astro46 said in Closing saved session multiplies pinned tabs in regular session:

    if the vivaldi commend is 'open session in new window' , then the user has every right to expect that the new window is a separate "session". ... Most users are not web designers and not familiar with terminology.

    But the user would be wrong, leading to the misunderstandings we're discussing about what sessions are and how they work. I'm not being pedantic about terminology, it's an important distinction that users need to understand in order to have proper expectations for how the product works, as I and others have been trying to explain since March. I should have perhaps written more about it in my previous reply; but I lacked the time then, so I waited until I did have the time to write and apologize if I came off as curt.

    Understanding what a session is in Chromium-based browsers isn't overly complicated, and definitely doesn't require any knowledge of programming. Some people have already explained the basics a few times in this thread, but as confusion persists I decided to extract the general parts of this and put it into its own thread, which is here.

    With respect to terminology however, perhaps that action could be better named. At first, I wasn't really sure what that could be, after writing that guide however, it seems that perhaps "Restore session in new window" might be better language for that menu item. Or maybe that guide on how sessions work will give someone an idea for better wording if they want to submit a request for that.

    A few core points to understand include:

    • All browser windows and the tabs they contain are part of the same session -- different windows are not separate sessions, regardless of how they were created.
    • Saved Sessions only exist on-disk, and currently cannot be updated. They provide users with the ability to restore a historical snapshot of the browser's prior state.
    • When a saved session is restored its contents become a part of the single current session, and the restored tab(s) as well as any additional windows do not retain any association with the saved session.

    There is a bug (or bugs) here, with pinned tabs getting moved to another window when the user tries to close the window containing a pinned tab. This isn't, however, in any way related to sessions, saved or otherwise. Part of the reason for your old bug being closed as invalid might have been due to a misunderstanding about this.

    Going forward, I see two issues, though the first might be by design.

    First, there is the fact that pinned tabs will move to another window when the containing window is closed regardless of the how the close option is set for pinned tabs. Personally, I would think that it gets moved if pinned tabs are set to not be closed, and simply close with the window otherwise.

    Second, there is the issue that this move happens before the positive confirmation to close the window, and therefore can occur even if the user doesn't actually close the window. If the user has the close window confirmation enabled, the tab gets moved when the close window action is invoked (e.g. via the X button), but the user can cancel that close operation still yet the tab has already been moved to another window. This is clearly a bug.

    I'm fairly certain no one has reported the second issue. If someone has, let me know, otherwise I'll report it tomorrow.



  • @BoneTone said in Closing saved session multiplies pinned tabs in regular session:

    But the user would be wrong, leading to the misunderstandings we're discussing about what sessions are and how they work. I'm not being pedantic about terminology, it's an important distinction that users need to understand

    ....Saved Sessions only exist on-disk, and currently cannot be updated. They provide users with the ability to restore a historical snapshot of the browser's prior state.

    Quite a long reply this time. I think that this is a conflict between terminology with its application, and functionality. What users have been explaining is that the functionality is less than optimal. In fact, to a certain extant it is bad. Focusing on whether sessions operate correctly from a terminology viewpoint misses the point. and for users that point is all that matters. If vivaldi is expecting people who aren't browser designers to be using the browser (and I believe the do) then user expectations, usability, elegance, are all that matter. Technically correct use of terminology is irrelevant. The productive response is to change how sessions function or perhaps simply remove the sessions function if it can't be made to operate in a way that users expect. The goal is to make users happy.

    Closing a "saved session window" from the taskbar dropdown causes the window to close without moving pinned tabs to the already open window (as explained in early posts). Only closing the window with the upper right X produces multiple pinned tabs. This indicates that the problem can be solved with attention to programming and is clearly either a bug or a very bizarre design choice..

    The saved session is only bringing back a Selected part of the browser's prior state: whatever tabs were saved for 'saved session'. An argument can be made that opening the saved session in a new window shouldn't open the pinned tabs at all, since that weren't saved as the 'saved session'. In addition, the inability to more elegantly update the saved session (either by option to 'update session' or offer the existing session name as 'new' saved session name, overwriting the previous, or, some other way, is another indication that this was a good idea that didn't get the development that it deserved before it was released.



  • @BoneTone said in Closing saved session multiplies pinned tabs in regular session:

    Second, there is the issue that this move happens before the positive confirmation to close the window, and therefore can occur even if the user doesn't actually close the window. If the user has the close window confirmation enabled, the tab gets moved when the close window action is invoked (e.g. via the X button), but the user can cancel that close operation still yet the tab has already been moved to another window. This is clearly a bug.

    I'm fairly certain no one has reported the second issue. If someone has, let me know, otherwise I'll report it tomorrow.

    I reported that recently.



  • @BoneTone ok OK, terminology issue. I should have said "when you close the window in which you opened the saved session".

    To a confused user, this difference isn't significant: the behaviour is completely counterintuitive (you can save a session with pinned tabs in it, and when you reopen it those pinned tabs will be there). But if you happen to close that window using the top right X, the pinned tabs - still present in the saved session - move to some other window you happen to have open. And it's a royal pain to have to unpin and delete those. This is utterly poor behaviour compared to Edge's collections now, that should be a major worry and I really think V should be putting some time into this.



  • @aach1 PS @BoneTone - having read on, I see that you are well aware of all the stuff I just said... no need to point me to your other comments.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Vivaldi Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.