Multimedia Key Runs Broken Link Checker Extension


  • Moderator

    I use a Dell multimedia keyboard.

    I accidentally pressed the key to the left of the Calculator and found that Broken Link checker ran. As I am a moderator on another forum the results are embarrassing. Fortunately, this time only one reply to the OP (my own) was split off to a new thread, and not loads of replies as happened once before when I clicked the icon.

    I have the icon hidden now to avoid that error, but the multimedia key ran it anyway. How come? What is that key supposed to do?

    No keyboard shortcut is set for Broken Link Checker.
    0_1525201434852_Keyboard Shortcut.png


    Specs: AMD A10-6800K, 8 Gb on Win 10 64-bit •Snapshot 1.16.1170.3 (64-bit)


  • Moderator

    This is what happens when I press the multi-media key on this thread

    0_1525201723181_Run Broken Link Checker.png

    The "This PC" dialogue also opens. The latter is the expected function of the key, which I think is for "My PC". The keytop shows a PC.

    0_1525202758752_This PC.png


  • Moderator

    Reported bug as:

    (VB-39956) This PC Multi-media Key Runs Broken Link Checker Extension


  • Moderator

    I tried assigning a shortcut key to run the extension, which works, but the multi-media keyboard still runs the extension too.


  • Moderator

    @pesala said in Multimedia Key Runs Broken Link Checker Extension:

    VB-39956

    Not reproducable.
    Which keyboard is this? Which keycode is sent by the keyboard function key? Check at http://keycode.info and send us the keycode by mail reply.


  • Moderator

    @gwen-dragon As I said in my initial post, it is a Dell multimedia keyboard.

    The havascript returns a code of 182 which it says reduces the volume in Firefox?

    The Calculator key (to its right) returns the code 183 which it says increases the volume in Firefox?


  • Moderator

    Do you have any scancode map in Windows Registry at HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout ?


  • Moderator

    @gwen-dragon This is all that I see there:
    I use a customised keyboard layout based on the UK International keyboard.

    Edit: I switched to a standard keyboard layout, but the problem persists.

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout]

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout\DosKeybCodes]
    "00000402"="bg"
    "00000404"="ch"
    "00000405"="cz"
    "00000406"="dk"
    "00000407"="gr"
    "00000408"="gk"
    "00000409"="us"
    "0000040a"="sp"
    "0000040b"="su"
    "0000040c"="fr"
    "0000040e"="hu"
    "0000040f"="is"
    "00000410"="it"
    "00000411"="jp"
    "00000412"="ko"
    "00000413"="nl"
    "00000414"="no"
    "00000415"="pl"
    "00000416"="br"
    "00000418"="ro"
    "00000419"="ru"
    "0000041a"="yu"
    "0000041b"="sl"
    "0000041C"="us"
    "0000041d"="sv"
    "0000041f"="tr"
    "00000422"="us"
    "00000423"="us"
    "00000424"="yu"
    "00000425"="et"
    "00000426"="us"
    "00000427"="us"
    "00000442"="tk"
    "00000452"="uk"
    "0000046e"="sf"
    "00000804"="ch"
    "00000807"="sg"
    "00000809"="uk"
    "0000080a"="la"
    "0000080c"="be"
    "00000813"="be"
    "00000816"="po"
    "00000c04"="ch"
    "00000c0c"="cf"
    "00000c1a"="us"
    "00001004"="ch"
    "00001009"="us"
    "0000100c"="sf"
    "00001404"="ch"
    "00001809"="us"
    "00010402"="us"
    "00010405"="cz"
    "00010407"="gr"
    "00010408"="gk"
    "00010409"="dv"
    "0001040a"="sp"
    "0001040e"="hu"
    "00010410"="it"
    "00010415"="pl"
    "00010418"="ro"
    "00010419"="ru"
    "0001041b"="sl"
    "0001041f"="tr"
    "00010426"="us"
    "00010c0c"="cf"
    "00010c1a"="us"
    "00020402"="bg"
    "00020408"="gk"
    "00020409"="us"
    "00020418"="ro"
    "00020422"="us"
    "00030402"="bg"
    "00030409"="usl"
    "00040402"="bg"
    "00040409"="usr"
    "00050408"="gk"

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout\DosKeybIDs]
    "00000410"="141"
    "0000041f"="179"
    "00000442"="440"
    "00010408"="220"
    "00010410"="142"
    "00010415"="214"
    "0001041f"="440"
    "00020408"="319"


  • Moderator

    I get the same result if I press the Scroll Lock or Pause/Break keys !

    Scan codes are 19 and 145 respectively, which is correct.

    The Broken Link Checker button is not displayed; the Extension Toggle is. If I hide both, the bug still occurs. No keyboard shortcut is set for the extension.


  • Moderator

    I installed the same extension into Vivaldi 1.15 Final.

    The bug does not affect it. Still affects the latest snapshot installed as a Standalone version.

    The bug still exists after removing and reinstalling the extension to 1.16 Snapshot.


    Specs: AMD A10-6800K, 8 Gb on Win 10 64-bit •Snapshot 1.16.1170.3 (64-bit)


  • Moderator

    Broken Link Checker decided to execute when I pressed Caps Lock by mistake. (Scan code = 20)

    This split a thread into three on the forums where I am a moderator. I have now removed the extension to avoid any further embarrassing accidents.


  • Moderator

    I installed an extension for WordWeb, which is a free Thesaurus. Normally, one Ctrl + Clicks on a word to open Wordweb with its definition.

    It won't do that without the Google Chrome extension, i.e. it will open but not with the word that was clicked..

    Now that I have installed the extension, WordWeb opens when I press the calculator key on my keyboard!

    No such issues in Vivaldi 1.15 Final.


  • Moderator

    @Pesala Your reopiorted issue with the multimedia keyboard was already confirmed by tester/dev.


  • Moderator

    @gwen-dragon Thanks for the update.


  • Moderator

    This post is deleted!


  • Just an additional data point that just started happening to me:

    Iridium settings page is opened by any of the volume-related keys on the keyboard (holding the Fn key + F6 thru F8) on an HP Envy Laptop.


 

Looks like your connection to Vivaldi Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.