Why does V sync every time I open a speed dial



  • Every time I open something from my speed dial I see the sync icon syncing, why is that, I rarely update my speed dial and bookmarks. It should sync every hour or something user defined.



  • @saudiqbal I think its probably syncing your tab changes (what tabs you currently have open, what url they are on).



  • I only sync
    Bookmarks and Speed dials
    Settings
    Passwords
    Extensions
    Notes

    Disabled are:
    Autofill
    History and remote sessions

    Still history is being synced then! I do not want to sync my tab history.


  • Moderator

    @saudiqbal Please report the issue.


    How to do a bug report for Vivaldi

    Report each bug separately at https://vivaldi.com/bugreport/
    Describe the issue as precise as you can.
    Add some information about extensions you use.
    Add information about the operating system and version you use.
    Add some information which security tools you use.
    If you have problems with video or audio give us information about your installed codecs and graphics
    card/GPU.
    Add a exact link to the page where the issue comes up and can be tested.
    After reporting the issue, you will receive a confirmation mail from the bugtracker.
    In a reply to this mail you can add more information and files (like screenshots or testcases) as
    attachments and it will be added automatically to bug report.

    If you have questions about the bug please ask in forum first and do not forget to post the VB-XXXXX
    bug number (you can find it in confirmation mail).

    Thanks in advance for helping us to make Vivaldi better!




  • Bug submitted.


  • Moderator

    Bug is now: VB-36778 "Sync is working every time I open a speed dial"
    I confirmed it.


  • Vivaldi Team

    Sorry, I only became aware of the bug this morning.

    This is actually related to the syncing of favicons and to the fact that speed dials are really bookmarks.
    Sync keep track of favicons for both synced tabs and bookmarks. Since the amount of data that can be stored on Sync is limited, there is a limit on how many of them are kept on Sync. When that amount is reached and a new favicon needs to be added, we try to find the favicon that hasn't been used for the longest time (Least Recently Used) and remove it from sync.
    But that means we need to keep track of when a favicon was last used, so every time a bookmark is accessed, we update the time on the favicon, which then gets synced, resulting in the activity you are seeing.

    I hope this clarifies things 🙂



  • @julien_picalausa So you're saying this isn't a bug but intended behaviour?


  • Vivaldi Team

    @morg42 Yes, pretty much.


 

Looks like your connection to Vivaldi Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.