This is my first forum post.

• Hi everyone,

I have been using Vivaldi browser for a few months, but never made a Vivaldi account. I want to thank whoever made this browser possible, and to keep up the good work. I am a user the Windows and occasionally Mac version, but I plan to install the Linux version when I get a reliable Linux setup.

@johnsetterlund Welcome! It's working well on Mint 18, if a little resource-hungry, so long as you have half-decent anywhere-near-modern hardware. My 9-year-old Core2 quad system with 8 GB ram running X64 Mint 18 loves it. My 14-year old 32-bit P4 system with 2 GB RAM running x86 Mint 18 quit loading Vivaldi last week when I updated it, and then quit loading Linux. So I have some work to do there... :)

• Thanks! I will give it a try, but I might try to run it off a thumb drive because my PC has got an SSD.

@johnsetterlund It takes up precious little room. How tiny is your SSD? I run one here, half a terrabyte, plenty of room left over. My smallest SSD is 120GB on a rather old laptop, and I run it on that as well.

• 128 GB, and Windows takes a sizable amount of it.

@johnsetterlund Hmmmmm. Well, Vivaldi will consume about a Gig and a half on average after extended use, and if you don't run it on the SSD, I don't know if you'll be happy with the speed. Of course, you might not notice much drop-off on a 64 GB USB 3.0. I'll have to try that, just for kicks.

• @johnsetterlund You'll find you have an immense amount of space for Linux, once you remove that virulent Redmond malware... :-)

Alternatively, you could do something like this, if you like:

1. Dual-boot [personally i'd advise against that, in favour of the following]
    2. Backup all your data [duh]
    3. Ensure you still have your Windows dvd & PK