[Resolved] Vivaldi takes ~30 s to open

• Hi everyone,

I have been using Vivaldi for a few months now. I really appreciate its integrated mouse gestures and customizable key shortcuts.

Sadly, it takes nowadays like ~30 s for opening Vivaldi. I tried to compare with Google Chrome, which takes ~1 s to open.

I tried to clear the download history, and the history itself, but nothing changes. I also tried to disable Avast.

My computer :

Windows 10 (64 bits)
    Vivaldi 1.11.917.22 (32 bits)
    Intel Core(TM) m3-6Y30 CPU @ 0.90 Ghz 1.51 GHz
    4 GB RAM
    128 GB SSD

My addons for Vivaldi :

uBlock Origin
    Tampermonkey
    Dashlane
    Stylish
    Midnight Lizard

Thanks to the dev team for this great browser, and thank you for your help!

Edit : Resolved. Uninstalling Avast! improved opening speed a lot.

• @Max160 Disabling Avast! will not help unfortunately. Users with problems have had to uninstall it (one moved to Avira). A "disabled" AV is actually not disabled at all. It still does all background tasks - like scanning every "suspicious" file you try to open.

Clearing the downloads list can help. So can limiting the storage length for History.

You do have a pretty slow CPU and barely-enough RAM, but all things being optimum, it should open for you in no more than 7-15 seconds. My worst, slowest, single core system requires 15-19 seconds on first cold boot, (this on a system that takes 7 sec for Chrome and 9 sec for firefox) and then five seconds for every subsequent one during a computer session.

Work is being done on streamlining some code, reducing the load and increasing the speed of the browser as we speak - but 30 sec is too long for ANY system that is sufficiently modern to actually run the browser.

• @Ayespy Thank you very much for your answer. It helps a lot to figure out that something is going wrong, even if the CPU of my ultrabook is pretty slow.

I noticed that Vivaldi began to start a lot slower when I did this :