Manual Update & Settings



  • What is the procedure when updating Vivaldi manually by replacing Vivaldi app folder?

    • Does it matter if you leave the "User Data" (\Default) folder alone?

    • Is it best to delete everything, but the Bookmarks and Notes?

    • Can you back up your settings by saving the "Preferences" and "Secure Preferences" files in the "Default" folder?

    • Which files are the most important in the Default folder?

    0_1493307437885_s.png


  • Moderator

    There are some tips:



  • Delete the contents of the Vivaldi "User Data" folder located at:

    • C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Vivaldi\ (in Windows)

    Copy back this file to "User Data":

    • First Run (to avoid starting for the first time)

    And these files to "User Data\Default":

    • Bookmarks
    • Notes
    • Sessions (saved tabs sessions)
    • Login Data (website passwords)
    • Web Data (autofill data)
    • Preferences (settings & configuration)
    • Local App Settings\mpognobbkildjkofajifpdfhcoklimli (folder - settings & configuration)
    • Cookies (website data)
    • Current Session (data on open tabs)
    • History (website history)
    • Top Sites (Speed Dial? thumbnails)

    Many extensions allow you to backup their settings to a text file, but extension preferences and data are stored in these files:

    • Extension Rules
    • Extension State
    • Extensions
    • Local Extension Settings
    • Local Storage
    • Managed Extension Storage
    • Extension Cookies
    • Secure Preferences

    When you start the new version of Vivaldi for the first time the "User Data" folder is recreated, but your settings and other data are preserved.

    If you only want to transfer some files (bookmarks, notes, login data, etc.) without transferring your settings, start your new installation of Vivaldi once, close the browser, then copy your files to "User Data\Default".


  • Moderator

    @liyin From the Vivaldi Help Page:

    Back up some parts of Vivaldi such as preferences, profile and settings. Most of the key components are stored within the “Default” folder, though you should also retain the “First Run” file stored alongside it. Deleting this file will make Vivaldi assume it is starting for the first time.



  • @liyin No, you should not delete your default folder/reset your profile if you don't have any issues. There is no reason for you to go through all this trouble if all you wanna do is update your install.



  • Not all settings were transferred to the new installation, some examples I noticed were "Startup | Startup with" and "Appearance | User Interface Zoom".

    And 1.9 adds new settings not present in 1.8. So I wonder if it is a good idea to transfer your old settings, instead of starting fresh.

    You have two options, you can transfer your settings and other files before starting Vivaldi for the first time, or you can allow Vivaldi to start fresh (no First Run file), then copy your files like bookmarks and notes, without copying your old settings/configuration.


Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Vivaldi Forum was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.